Making my first $

I learned coding at 15 years old (2008).

My first project was a music site. It was later shut down by the hosting provider due to copyright issues.

I later built a browser game based on Mafia, which did well for a bit and was eventually sold for $400 (2009).

I built another E-commerce site selling sports clothes and shoes that was later sold for $4000. (2011)

This kept me going. I made another an e-commerce site that sold watches. However, we had no marketing skills. It took 2 years to develop and got closed a year later.

In 2017, we opened a cryptocurrency exchange that did well while Google Ads were running. But suddenly, a lot of scams appeared, and Google blocked all crypto ads. Our growth stalled, and we had to close it down in 2019.

Since then, I've been working for someone else, but today I'm back to building software for myself, hoping something will pop. Here are the top 5 things I learned along the way:


- No matter how good your product is, if you can't market it, you will have to shut it down eventually.

- Do not expect to make it big overnight; good things take time. You have to keep testing things until you have something.

- Not everything that excites you will work out.

- Always have a solid plan before you jump into building, scope plan B if A doesn't pan out.

- Lastly, do not give up. Even if you fail, you can always say "I tried" and get a normal job again. :)

Reply

or to participate.