I finally did it!

Hey everyone!

After two months of carefully selecting the right stack, building, tweaking features, and rebuilding, I've finally released a product that will serve as the foundation for all my upcoming SaaS projects. My goal is to start testing ideas quickly, which is why I chose to build a boilerplate.

Here's the stack I settled on:

  1. Next.js: A powerful React framework for building server-side rendered and static websites.

  2. Supabase: An open-source alternative to Firebase, offering a PostgreSQL database, authentication, and more.

  3. Stripe: A popular payment processing platform for handling transactions.

  4. Replicate AI: A platform for running machine learning models in the cloud.

  5. Resend: A modern email API for developers. (might have to change this to Loops soon since it does not support events/journeys).

  6. Tailwind CSS: A utility-first CSS framework for rapidly building custom user interfaces.

  7. shadcn/ui: A collection of re-usable components built with Radix UI and Tailwind CSS.

This project has been an incredible learning experience, and I now feel much more comfortable building on top of this stack.

I also discovered that "shiny object syndrome" is real. When I started this project, I was using Firebase as my database and Clerk for authentication.

However, I soon realized these were two major vendor lock-ins that I wanted to avoid in the future. This decision was reinforced by a particularly bad experience with Firestore, where I received an unexpected bill of over $1,000 for a single month! Additionally, Firestore didn't have proper type support, which was frustrating.

Switching to Supabase has addressed these concerns. It provides a PostgreSQL database (most popular DB in the world atm) with better type support and more predictable pricing. Plus, being open-source, it offers more flexibility and control.

Overall, I'm pretty stoked with the result. It will provide a solid foundation for my future projects, allowing me to focus on building unique features rather than reinventing the wheel each time.

Feel free to check it out at appliful.com

Reply

or to participate.